top of page
  • priscillatormekpey6

5 ways to escape Spiritual Darkness

Updated: Jun 6, 2022

What comes to your mind when you think about Spiritual Darkness? You might have different thoughts about it from depression, to sleep paralysis to a complete dark surrounding. Spiritual Darkness is simply a period of time in our life where we feel completely distanced from God, some might even stop believing that there is a God. And to be honest with you, I think it is ourselves that run into a time of spiritual darknes, we might have got lost by temptation and other things or we even felt very comfortable in the darkness for too long and didn’t even realise how we were still in it. Some have experienced it and managed to escape the darkness by running to Jesus. Some might still be going through it, if that is you, then this post is specially made for you.

Sometimes we feel like there is no one we can trust, or talk to and that might take us even further away from God. But let me give you a small reminder. God was, is and always will be there for you, like in Hebrews 13:5 says “I will never leave you nor forsake you”, God made a promise, and he is a God that does not break promises. If you are serious and tired of your current situation, I want you to do a little prayer and ask God (I know it might feel a little weird, but know that God is listening) to prepare your heart, mind and soul for this upcoming tips and allow him to used them to work in your and your life.

Let me help you out here: Father Lord, I know it might have been a little while, and I know my life hasn’t been the same, but Lord, I want a new start, I want to refresh my life, I want to stop curtain behaviours and things that I have been doing, I want you to bring Light into my life Lord. A light that will shine bright enough for me to escape this darkness that I feel. I’m tired of the Darkness and I know all I have to do is to ask and you will take me out. I’m ready and prepared for you to shine the Light in my life, I will follow and I not look back. I thank you Lord, for what you are about to do in my life. In the mighty name of Jesus I pray, Amen

Okay, now that we know that God is with us, let us start to have a look at some things that could help us out of the darkness.

  1. Prayer Of course the first thing would be Prayer, I trust and believe that contious prayer will take you out of anything you are facing in life, let it be depression, sadness, fear, spiritual attack or anything you are facing in life. Talk to God, if you’re angry, let him know, if you are lonely, let him know, if you are scared let him know, open up to him, cry out to him be fully honest with him and he will answer plus you might even feel better that you let those feelings out. Just remember to stay respectful because at the end of the day he still is our God. Serious Prayer today tomorrow and ongoing will have a positive impact on your life.

  2. Going to Church or find a Christian community Now I know we are still going through this corona season, depending on where you live, finding a suitable church or Christian community that you can weekly attend in person or online can be very beneficial, if you are comfortable enough ask a close one to also pray for you.

  3. Meditation There are different type of Meditation. You can take a walk with Jesus, go to the woods or a nearby park and just start talking to God (in silence or loud, however you like it), you can also enjoy the Nature, listen to the sounds, hear the birds, the squirrels, the wind and stop thinking about negative things and just relax. You can also do some Yoga or just lie down, put a calming sound, find a calm position (continuously change them if you like) go into your thoughts and allow God to talk to you.

  4. Affirmation List Take a pen and paper, and start writing positive things about yourself, preferably things you feel blessed about, for example, you are alive, you are healthy, you have people around you etc. Every little thing is a blessing, and often we forget to realise that just having a roof over our head and food on our table is also a huge blessing.

  5. Ask for Help I know I know, we don’t like asking for Help. I’m the type of Person that like to struggle in silence and manage on my own (Yap I’m a Scorpion). But often it bothers me that I am like this, there have been times in my life where I really could have used the help of others. Especially during my own time in the Darkness. But I am very grateful that I’ve discovered the light just on time. Don’t be like me, find courage to ask for help, a lot of people would happily help you get through this time, let it be prayer, company, dinner or financially, just ask.


I hope these tips are helpful, they might be very easy tips, but they tcdo really work. I will also pray for anybody that is going through spiritual Darkness, if you want me to pray for you, email me or fill out a conta form. I Love you, and most Importantly, God Loves you.

Romans 8:38-39 "For I am sure that neither death nor life, nor angels nor rulers, nor things present nor things to come, nor powers, nor height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God in Christ Jesus our Lord."


5 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page